Response to Journal Entry Question p.700

I have actually read Jonathan Swift’s A Modest Proposal in high school, so when I began reading it again, I was excited. I enjoyed it the first time and more the second time. His proposal about eating children is most humorous for I know Swift is a sarcastic man and focuses most if not all of his works on satire. Gulliver’s Travels is an excellent example of Swift’s satire at work, since much of it was based off of the English and French conflicts. Overall, I found this essay amusing because of how bizarre it is and the fact that some people take it seriously and get offended by it.

Leave a Reply

